Use Screenwriter? Want a Retina Macbook? About that…

Movie Magic Screenwriter

Movie Magic Screenwriter

Anyone who uses Write BrothersMovie Magic Screenwriter and looking to upgrade to a new MacBook Pro with Retina Display, I’ve got some bad news.

I emailed the company recently about a timeline for Lion compatibility as their post promising broken features “soon” hadn’t been updated since last August. The company is currently working on the new version of Dramatica, and once it’s released in July, they can focus on Lion compatibility with Screenwriter.

When I asked about adding support for the new Retina display, the reply was “Not right away.”

There you have it. A bit of a mixed bag. If you use Screenwriter (I’m a recent convert from Final Draft and like it) and need those features in Lion, it’s on its way, and hopefully will continue to work when Mountain Lion ships. As for the Retina updates? Well, lets just say this ol’ PowerBook’s got some life left in her…

Ryan.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About Ryan

I'm a writer-performer originally from Montreal, Canada where I performed stand-up and sketch comedy. These days I'm an Instructor in the New Media Department at the University of Lethbridge where I indulge in my fascination with creative media and technology. I've written and directed two web series and always seem to have a new project lined up. Busy is good.

4 responses to “Use Screenwriter? Want a Retina Macbook? About that…”

  1. cam ford says :

    hey ryan! any word on this yet? i just bought a retina display mac book pro today – screenwriter looks awful. if i’m stuck staring at pixels for 6 hours a day i’m going to go bonkers. would love an update if you have one. cheers!

    • Ryan says :

      At the moment, it doesn’t look like they support it yet. The last email I had from them on the issue was from over a year ago (when Lion was still out) and I got the impression it wasn’t super high on their priority list as they had (or have) parts of Screenwriter that aren’t fully compatible with 10.7 and up.

      There is a tech support article explaining how to use Screenwriter in “low res” mode. I don’t have a Retina screen so I can’t vouch for it, but maybe it’ll be better than what you currently have.

      http://support.screenplay.com/answercenter/questions.php?questionid=828

      I’ll contact them again and post what they tell me.

Leave a Reply

