Always Root for the Underdog

Donald Changing a Tire

This is how I felt pumping a flat…

Growing up, I always preferred Donald over Mickey.  I always felt sorry for Donald and wanted him to come out on top.  Where Mickey was a stuck-up little rodent with a high-pitched voice, Donald struggled with inner demons, like a raging temper.

Temper Temper

I usually feel this way when changing the tire on my wife’s bike…

I always root for the underdog, and compared to Mickey, Donald never got ahead.  That same mentality led me to buy my first Mac, back in the 90s.  It’s also why I stubbornly cling to my eight and a half-year old PowerBook.  I’ve turned it into the underdog.  The hottest thing since sliced bread in December 2003, my PowerBook was among the first to come off the assembly line, sporting a brand new aluminum enclosure.  It was revolutionary, beautiful and state-of-the-art.  It was also a small fortune.

The other day, I thought about one Donald Duck cartoon in particular, Donald’s Tire Trouble.  As you can see from the pics, I found myself in a similar predicament.  Here I was, pumping up an RV tire with a bicycle pump.  Good times.

Pumping up the Roadtrek

Not even the right shoes…

Luckily for me, I didn’t resort to chewing the wheel, but take my word that pumping a truck tire to 48psi with a pump that doesn’t fit properly is not a fun way to spend an afternoon.

Flat Tire

It takes a while to pump that bad boy up…

Tags: , ,

About Ryan

I'm a writer-performer originally from Montreal, Canada where I performed stand-up and sketch comedy. These days I'm an Instructor in the New Media Department at the University of Lethbridge where I indulge in my fascination with creative media and technology. I've written and directed two web series and always seem to have a new project lined up. Busy is good.

Leave a Reply

