New Space, New Place

Finally made it to our new digs, in a new city, in a new province. Such is the life of a uni prof. Now I know why so many of my profs never had kids: all the moving.

As a sessional instructor, I’m still a good ways off from a stable tenure track posting. Moving from town to town like a drifter is going to be a way of life for the next few years. And it’s hard with kids. They seem to like staying in one place and being close to friends and familiar locations.

Sadly, the days of landing a plum long-term teaching gig right out of grad school are gone for good. There’s just too many of us out there, and when the economy tanks, a secure teaching job looks pretty tempting, even if the pay is much less than the private sector.

But for many of us, it’s a vocation and we stick to it. There’s something driving us to teach and help students push their own boundaries and succeed.

That said, my new digs are pretty awesome. I’ve got my own office with a spectacular view. Looking forward to the new semester. I have a lot to learn.

About Ryan

I'm a writer-performer originally from Montreal, Canada where I performed stand-up and sketch comedy. These days I'm an Instructor in the New Media Department at the University of Lethbridge where I indulge in my fascination with creative media and technology. I've written and directed two web series and always seem to have a new project lined up. Busy is good.

Leave a Reply

